But my kids begged, so there I was on countless nights, dragging my weary self out of my warm bed after I remembered I had forgotten to move Candy Sandy and Jelly (yep, I have two elves) to a new spot. Now that my elves have been permanently shelved, I can share the Elf on the Shelf guide I wish someone had written for me—one with just enough magic and very little effort involved. These easy Elf on the Shelf ideas are so quick that they can be pulled off last minute, making them ideal for busy Santas. You’ll even find a few self-care moments woven in because it doesn’t get more magical than that. Pro tip: Sneak a piece or two of their favorite candy out of their trick-or-treat bags at Halloween, and that can be your kiddos’ gift from the elf. But oh, no! She is sitting on top of the box, so you can’t actually decorate today without touching her and ruining the magic. Oh, well. Or you can just leave out a sleeve of graham crackers, a jar of frosting, some candy canes, and a note that says, “help me make a house” and let your kids take over from there. And don’t use the gift wrap that “Santa” uses at your house.