Once I reached week 14 and finally shared the news that I was expecting, advice rolled in from my friends about how they got through the first trimester. While their insight was interesting, it came a little too late. Here are a few of the healthy pregnancy tips I wish I’d known a bit earlier to make my first few weeks go more smoothly. Keep in mind that every pregnancy is different, so what works for some might not work for you—but you might just find something that makes those first few months a little easier to bear. Despite it being the last thing I wanted to do some days, getting out for a walk was the only thing that made me feel energized and remotely like myself. The days when I could get in a light strength workout or pilates session were even better. My friends who struggled with nausea more than I did report that even on days when they felt sick, squeezing in movement made them feel less queasy. Yes, it can be hard to get moving, but start with just a walk around the block and you might just feel compelled to keep going. Staying active through all trimesters can help alleviate common symptoms like back pain, constipation, bloating, and could even help speed up labor. According to Dr. Savard, these benefits apply to both aerobic and strengthening workouts. “Studies have shown that exercise may lower the risk of excess weight gain, pregnancy related diabetes, preeclampsia, C-section, and even postpartum depression,” she says. My first trimester, I took advantage of every opportunity I had to nap and sleep in. After all, once that little one arrives, the opportunities to do so will be quite limited. And if you’re lucky enough to have a partner or family around who offer to do the dishes or take out the dog, now is not the time for pride—let yourself be taken care of. I found (and have heard the same from many people) that eating every two to three hours, or grazing throughout the day, was a lot easier on my system than trying to eat three square meals a day. Bottom line, throw out any “food rules” or preconceived notions about what prenatal nutrition looks like. Dr. Savard says not to worry if you don’t gain any weight in your first trimester (as long as your doctor agrees, of course). Focus on nourishing yourself as best you can on any given day. “Find any healthy food that you can tolerate to maintain your weight such as grains, eggs, fruits, vegetables, and healthy fats, such as avocado, nuts, and plant oils,” she says. I decided that since I was going to order a body pillow at some point, I may as well get bang for my buck and purchase one as early as possible. Starting in my ninth week of pregnancy I began sleeping with a C-shape pregnancy pillow, and my only regret is that I didn’t start the second I got my positive test result. It gave my hips and joints extra support as my body started to change. As pregnancy goes on, the pillow will both help alleviate aches and pains as well as help you sleep on your side (which is the sleeping position most recommended later in the second and third trimester). The type and size pillow you buy is totally based on personal preference, so just get something that’s cozy for you. If the idea of plain old water feels boring after a while, try adding a splash of juice or reach for a flavored sparkling water. I started adding packets of electrolytes to my water bottle (after checking with my doctor), and it helped with my occasional lightheadedness and made it easier for me to drink the bottle down. You just might want to drink most of your liquids a few hours before bedtime to avoid making nighttime trips to the bathroom even more frequent than they already are. RELATED: You’re Probably Not Drinking Enough Water - Here Are Two Simple Ways To Check