“I typically advise my clients to avoid heavy patterns. Also, too matchy-matchy is definitely a thing. I mean we have all seen those memes of an entire family dressed in tartan or denim. Don’t let that be you,” says Ilene Squires, a portrait photographer based in Los Angeles. “Instead, simply try to stay in the same color family. If you want to wear earth tones, then deep greens, creams, and browns are the way to go. If you’re more of a color lover, then I think white, black, and gray are ideal neutrals to be paired with colors that pop a bit more.” Don’t be afraid to shoot outdoors, either. Just make sure to avoid harsh, direct sunlight by shooting early morning or around dusk, or by taking advantage of an overcast day. “I just want to see a good, clear view of the people I care about. Get in close and don’t have too much going on,” says Chuck DeLaney, dean of the New York Institute of Photography. He also says to think about levels. “For example, have one person standing, one in a chair, one on the arm, one kneeling in front.” Pro tip: Squires says if you’re running behind, make it a New Year’s card, instead!