If you’re like me and rarely switch up your skincare routine, it can be hard to bite the bullet to test out new products. But sometimes unexpected skincare issues arise. I’ve been searching for a new product that will help diminish the scars and stretch marks on my legs, and that’s when I stumbled across Bio-Oil Skincare Oil, which has more than 90,000 five-star reviews. Are these Bio-Oil reviews legit? I wanted an expert’s opinion on the claims made, so I spoke to board-certified dermatologist Dr. Rita V. Linkner, MD, to get the lowdown on how Bio-Oil can benefit your skin or hair.

Bio-Oil Uses

After reading the product description and some of these reviews, I learned that Bio-Oil can be used for more than just helping reduce the appearance of scars or stretch marks—this cult-favorite oil has close to 15 different uses thanks to its blend of natural oils that promotes skin healing and addresses common skin concerns. Some popular uses include:

Healing acne scarsBanishing dry skinTaming pesky hair flyawaysRemoving makeupReducing a flaky scalpRefreshing puffy eyes

How It Works

“For expecting moms, pack Bio-Oil in your hospital bag to use in those first few days of post-pregnancy. Most women don’t realize that rapid weight loss during post-pregnancy can also contribute to stretch marks, so it’s best to continue using Bio-Oil two to three times a day when in post-pregnancy recovery, to help skin rebound to the best of its ability by keeping it supple and hydrated. Bio-Oil is also a great way to massage arthritic joints. It works well for xerotic skin [abnormally dry], especially of the lower legs where circulatory changes often affect the texture.”

How and When to Apply

“Apply Bio-Oil twice daily, massaging in a circular motion until fully absorbed, and you should start to see the results within four to six weeks of daily use,” Dr. Linkner says. “I would stress the importance of using Bio-Oil post showering when skin is at most moist, given all the stripping of hot water and soap chemicals. I tell patients to rub on Bio-Oil after a light toweling off to reinforce the beads of water on the body back into the skin.”

Final Thoughts

While I found the solution to definitely be too oily to use on my face and underneath my foundation, I have seen improvement in the appearance of some deep scars on my legs, and I’m going to continue using it for even more results—fingers crossed!