My husband and I went on a trip to Europe earlier this year. As we were planning, we knew one thing – we wanted to go to Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast in Italy. I knew nothing about Sorrento before going other than that it was a great place to stay if you wanted to visit Amalfi and Pompeii, both highlights on our trip. After visiting for just two days, I fell in love with Sorrento and its bright colors, citrus scent, and delicious pasta. It’s one of those places that I wish I’d had more time to visit and explore.

Gnocchi Sorrentina

I’m a huge fan of gnocchi every since my husband made it for me when we were first dating, so when I saw gnocchi with tomato sauce and mozzarella on the menu at Inn Buffalito in Sorrento, I knew I had to try it. Most gnocchi I’ve tried in the past has been with some sort of cream sauce, pesto, or even something like pumpkin. This gnocchi was made with simple, fresh, and local ingredients including mozzarella made by the restaurant. The gnocchi Sorrentina was delicious. Homemade gnocchi, a delicious tomato sauce, fresh basil, and of course, mozzarella.

Easy Gnocchi Recipe

One of the things I love most about traveling is eating different food around the world. And then coming home and remaking that food at home, in my own way. This easy gnocchi recipe is a very simplified version of the gnocchi I had in Sorrento, simplified and still delicious.

The beauty of this recipe is that you can literally have it on the table in under 20 minutes and that’s even if you get distracted, like I normally do when I’m cooking. Instead of making gnocchi from scratch, I used pre-made gnocchi that just needs to boil. And instead of using a fresh tomato sauce that needs to simmer forever, I used Classico® Roasted Garlic Pasta Sauce. Each Classico® pasta sauce is inspired by a particular region and the fresh ingredients used in that region, and the Roasted Garlic is inspired by Sorrento – making it perfect in this recipe or any of these other delicious Italian recipes on Food Network.

Simply boil your gnocchi and while you’re cooking the gnocchi, heat up the sauce. Add the cooked gnocchi directly to the sauce and toss to let the flavors mingle. Top with fresh basil leaves and the best fresh mozzarella you can find, bonus points if you use buffalo mozzarella like the one I had in Sorrento.

Let the mozzarella melt slightly then serve hot and enjoy as you pretend that you’re eating on the seaside in sunny Sorrento, enjoying a nice breeze and the smell of citrus all around.

  .

Don’t forget to pin this easy gnocchi recipe for later!

This is a sponsored conversation written by me on behalf of Classico. The opinions and text are all mine.

Easy Gnocchi Recipe Inspired by Gnocchi Sorrentina - 33Easy Gnocchi Recipe Inspired by Gnocchi Sorrentina - 2Easy Gnocchi Recipe Inspired by Gnocchi Sorrentina - 72Easy Gnocchi Recipe Inspired by Gnocchi Sorrentina - 24Easy Gnocchi Recipe Inspired by Gnocchi Sorrentina - 51Easy Gnocchi Recipe Inspired by Gnocchi Sorrentina - 22Easy Gnocchi Recipe Inspired by Gnocchi Sorrentina - 66Easy Gnocchi Recipe Inspired by Gnocchi Sorrentina - 36Easy Gnocchi Recipe Inspired by Gnocchi Sorrentina - 21Easy Gnocchi Recipe Inspired by Gnocchi Sorrentina - 46Easy Gnocchi Recipe Inspired by Gnocchi Sorrentina - 79Easy Gnocchi Recipe Inspired by Gnocchi Sorrentina - 59