Reader question: Hair dryers are awful. Is there a better way to dry my hair for work? - @terikarobonik Based on your question, I’m going to assume that you shower in the morning. So do I—and although I love my a.m. soaks, sopping wet hair is never fun when you have somewhere to be. Drying your hair is a lengthy process, and for those of us with thick, curly, or long hair (raises hand), it requires intentionally scheduling it into your day. Now, of course, you can use a hair dryer to expedite this process, but 1) I want to avoid heat damage and 2) I’m too lazy. In other words, you’ve come to the right place because I have mastered the art of air-drying over the course of many years. (TBH, I haven’t used a hair dryer since high school.) If you want a short and sweet answer, wearing towel turbans while getting ready is the classic option to consider. The moisture-wicking fibers will help absorb more water compared to strictly air-drying. However, the longer answer (and my preferred route if I want a better finish) warrants a few extra steps. But don’t worry—they’re not difficult or extensive. If I want my air-dried hair to look like a professional blowout, there are more products involved, but if my goal is just to dry my hair pronto, these are the minimalist steps I take. Feel free to copy my routine so you can sleep in longer and get out the door faster. My fave: Act+Acre Intelligent Hair Towel ($30; actandacre.com), which features a super-soft waffle texture that soaks up water like a dream. While air-drying, simultaneously rough-dry your hair. You may or may not have heard of the term, but you probably have seen your hairstylist do it before. It simply means tousling your hair with only your fingers (usually tossing from one side to another), focusing on the roots to create more volume. Continue this process until your hair is 30% dry (more on that in the next step). While blow-dry creams contain polymers that are activated by heat and distribute heat along the hair shaft, air-dry formulas are generally made with starches that soak moisture from the hair, along with smoothing elements that help you achieve a sleeker, frizz-free finish. My personal recommendation is Kristin Ess Weightless Shine Air Dry Creme ($11; ulta.com), which features a proprietary strengthening complex designed to smooth the appearance of split ends and damaged cuticles. Another fave: IGK No More Blow High-Speed Air Dry Spray ($29; amazon.com), which I can confirm shaves approximately 50% of my air-dry time.