Born in Indonesia and raised in Singapore, Gunawan knew she wanted a space that could accommodate frequent guests. “For me, I needed a guest room for when I have friends coming over from Singapore, but I also wanted the space to be useful when I didn’t have guests, instead of being limited to just a guest bedroom. I rarely drink alcohol and enjoy having people over for tea instead. I have tea and sweets with friends very often and decided to come up with the idea of a multifunctional space, one that could serve as a guest room but also as a flexible space to have tea with friends or read,” she explains. Whether being used as a sleeping nook, tea room, or serene spot to chat, the multifunctional guest room has become a favorite hangout area for Gunawan’s friends. “During parties, it is often the space that people flock to the whole time to escape a larger crowd. In a party of 10, I would see two to three people separate themselves from the party and go in there to just talk and bond. I’ve been told that my friends have had some of the most meaningful conversations they’ve had with each other in there, so we must’ve done something right!”

Get the Look:

For a simple spot to display pottery and plants, consider this wood and cane bookshelf.